31 Oct 2015

In the words of out Chairman Hugh Tingle the 2015 season has probably been one, if not the, most successful season for Mexborough Cricket Club.  Not only did the Club manage to win the South Yorkshire Cricket League Fourth Division they also managed to reached the final of the Presidents Cup.  Captained by Ryan Tingle this was a major improvement on previous seasons.

For the second year in a row the Sunday team, captained by Michael Faley, were Division 1 Champions in the Barnsley and District Sunday League.

Individual Club Awards went to;-

  • First Team Batting – Zac Gayfer -Overseas
  • First Team Bowling – Ryan (where is the Ice Pack) Tingle
  • Second Team Batting – James Clark
  • Second Team Bowling – Jonathan Mason
  • Sunday Team Batting – Liam Rigby – Oveseas
  • Sunday Team Bowling – Callum Honeyman
  • Under 13 Batting and Bowling – Owen Sargison
  • Under 11 Batting  – Bailey Lowe
  • Under 11 Bowling –  Liam Hawkes
  • Under 11 All Rounder  – Toby Howley.

All Junior Players were awarded with individual trophies across all the age groups, Under 9 through to Under 15.

Hugh Tingle used his Chairman’s Speech to thank Marlene Spruce, who provided lodgings for our overseas player and to both Tea Ladies, Margaret Tingle and Anita Barker.

Mexborough Cricket Club has been around since the mid 19th Century and continues to work with the local schools and community groups to encourage participation in both Cricket and other sporting activities.